I’m up for a Completely New Challenge!

July 28, 2011

Get Movin', Livin'

   Let’s Bring It!

Last week I was up for a challenge & I decided to give P90X plyometrics a try !

I’ve done a couple workouts from the P90X series in the past already, but this was my first experience with plyo.

For those of you who are not familiar with Tony Horton and his extreme home 90 day fitness program, check out the website to get a better idea: www.p90x.com.

Basically plyo is the beast of all P90x series and it made me realize that I had lots of room for improvement. I literally wasn’t able to complete half of the workout with proper form; I had to stop repetitively and by the time I finished I felt like dead meat! Believe it or not, that was my motivation right there, the “You think I can’t do this? Well let me show you that I can” attitude aroused!

Up until now, I have improved my physical condition and my overall body composition with mostly short, intense HIIT (high intensity interval trainings). I still believe that this is one of the best ways to get ripped, and fast. But I got comfortable with it, my body got used to this type of training and I believe it’s time to stimulate new muscle fibers and produce new brain synapses!!!

I won’t be following the P90X program by the letter, but I’ll be adding many workouts to my current improved routines.

Here is a quick peak of my new training program, starting in August

Day01) Morning Jog + Abs & Thighs (The “Hard Body Workout” from“The Women’s Health Big Book of Exercises“)

Day02) Plyometrics (P90X)

Day03) Morning Jog + Ab Ripper (P90X)

Day04) Yoga or Stretching (P90X)

Day05) Morning Jog + 12 minute HIIT

Day06) HIIT Cardio + Total Body Workout (my own resistance training combo)

Day07) Rest Day

Summary of the P90X Workouts I’m Adding to my Routine

Plyometrics: Workout time: 58:36 – You’d better Bring It when you take on this dynamic cardio workout (some call it “the Beast”).  With over 30 explosive jumping moves, you won’t be spending much time on the ground during this routine.  Just be sure to wear some shock-absorbing footwear and work with a good shock-absorbing mat.

Ab ripper X: Workout time: 58:36 – You’d better Bring It when you take on this dynamic cardio workout (some call it “the Beast”).  With over 30 explosive jumping moves, you won’t be spending much time on the ground during this routine.  Just be sure to wear some shock-absorbing footwear and work with a good shock-absorbing mat.

Yoga X: Workout time: 92:24 – It you think this will be the day to relax and take a breather, forget it.  This yga wokout will challenge you like never before.  You’ll sweat, twist, stretch, and hold all kinds of unfamiliar positions, but you’ll leave feeling energized, invigorated, and maybe even a little enlightened.

X Stretch: Workout time: 57:32 – Keeping limber and loose is vital to the success of any fitness program.  Aside from the stretching exercises that take place before, during, and after each P90X workout, we’ve created this entire 57-minute stretching routine to minimize the potential for injury and keep you at the top of your game.

Let’s get rockin’ people!

P.s. For all P90X devotees out there, P90X2 is expected to launch by January 2012, yayyy, can’t wait 🙂

Check out The P90X2 Official Trailer

, , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “I’m up for a Completely New Challenge!”

  1. m3lly78 Says:

    Wow – P90X looks amazing!

    Reply

  2. Jade Says:

    How was P90x? I’ve considered getting it

    Reply

    • myfitstation Says:

      P90X is all about pushing yourself to your limits, I highly recommend it if you are up for a challenge 🙂
      You get the total package and work your body in many different ways!
      I say go for it 🙂
      And let me know how it goes !

      Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The “Hard Body” workout! « - July 28, 2011

    […] My Fitness Log ← I’m up for a completely new challenge! […]

Leave a Comment

