Homemade Peanut Butter !

January 24, 2012

Yummy Stuff

Make your own yummy spread, it’s easy as 1,2,3!

I can’t believe I didn’t try this one before, thank you LIZ for the reminder! I always felt a little guilty buying my 10$ organic peanut butter at the natural health food store, and now that I’ve tried making my own, I’m never turning back! Yesterday, I grabbed 2 cups of roasted salted peanuts ( I couldn’t find the non-salted kind) at the grocery store, the total cost was 1,50$. As soon as I got home, I threw them in my food processor, added about 2 tbsp. of oil, three minutes later, I had my own delicious jar of homemade peanut butter. It was that easy, really!

How do you like your nut butter?

You can play with the recipe, with the kind of nuts you use (walnut, peanuts, cashew nuts, almonds, hazelnut, or you can mix it all up), you can also add some honey for a creamier version, or add a pinch of salt if you prefer it that way. I suggest you start with plain roasted peanuts, or you can roast them on your own (simply place peanuts in the oven, preheat to 350 degrees F. for about 15-25min., toss them around half-way through). Once you have processed your nuts for a couple of minutes, you can add whatever ingredients you like. Some only add a little honey without using oil, give it a try, play with it, and make it your own!

My favorite peanut butter combos

  • I love to mix it in my oatmeal for breakfast
  • sliced bananas topped with peanut butter and honey
  • on a toast with jam
  • topped on banana bread

Warning!!! Do not eat the whole jar at once!

image source

,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Things Tuesday… Fitness Nutrition & The Importance of Feeling Satisfied! | My Fit Station - April 4, 2012

    […] flow. I have to admit that I am a big time peanut butter junkie 🙂 You can check out my natural homemade peanut butter recipe here. I like to combine nut butter with fruit, oats, even carrots… and no matter what I’m craving; […]

  2. No-Bake CHOCO-PEANUT Protein Bar Recipe! « - February 22, 2012

    […] of natural peanut butter (or other kind of nut […]

Leave a Comment

