5 Things Tuesday… My Motivational Tips!

February 14, 2012

Get Inspired, Mind Fitness

I’ve decided to add this weekly post so that I can share some fun facts, tips, and games with you guys!

Let the fun begin with 5TT! And let’s make it a double for this first post 🙂

This week, I wanted to give you guys some tips on how I stay motivated, even on those days were working out is the last thing that comes to mind… these little tricks help me get my groove on!

1. PINterest

For those of you who have no clue what I am talking about, check it out for yourselves: www.pinterest.com. This website has become my new online motivational tool. Simply choose your category in the menu: “Fitness” to get tons of inspiring fitness related pictures. You can also sign-up and pin your own pictures, make your own motivational boards and share them with the rest of the world! PIN IT Sugar! 

2. Visualization

This is a tool that really works for me. Whether it’s before my training session, while I’m hitting a sweat or even after I complete my workout. Visualizing my goals in a very clear and detailed manner truly gives me that extra boost. Think about what really motivates you, why are you working out? Is it to have a banging body, is it because you want to feel strong and energized…perhaps a combination of both? Imagine yourself already there and you will get there sooner than you think. The mind is a powerful tool if you use it right!

3. Music

I don’t know about you, but I always notice how much more power & strength I get when a good song comes up. It feels like I can keep going on forever and everything seems possible. Update your playlist on a regular basis so that you always have some good tunes to keep you going strong! 

4. My Workout Journal & Workout Log

Tracking, taking notes, planning my goals & challenges really pumps me up! I have a workout log where I keep track of each and every workout in detail; you can check it out by clicking on “My Workout Log” in the menu above. I also like to keep a fitness journal where I write down everything that comes along during my fitness journey.

Here are some ways I make use of my fitness journal:

–          I set up a monthly workout calendar (tracking my workouts, nutrition, weigh-ins, and comments)

–          I track my weekly or biweekly body stats (weight, body fat, body measurements)

–          I set myself some short & long-term goals

–          I develop detailed action plans

–          I track my progress and make some adjustments along the way

–          I journal about my journey

–          I personalize it with my favorite quotes and motivational pictures

–          And finally, I set reward systems that keep me going

5. My Reward System

I love rewards, I mean who doesn’t? I have already set my rewards for the upcoming challenge!!! Last week, I’ve successfully completed my “Project Valentines” challenge, which was a 2 week program. Here is what I got as a reward for my accomplishment: A foam Roller, a set of elastic bands, and some raw organic hemp protein powder! Yeay! After a little recovery week,  I’ll be on to my 3 week exercise challenge including some P90X2 workouts. This is going to be a real challenge and here are some rewards I have in mind: A new pair of Nike running shoes, a new hairdo and a new sweater! The greater the challenge, the better the reward 🙂 

6. My own Results

The fitter I get, the more inspired I am to keep going, the stronger I get, the more mental strength I have to push even  harder. I love seeing results; they are the main reason I keep up with everything that comes my way!

7. Youtube Fitness Vlogs

I usually do my own little pre-workout inspirational routine before I hit a sweat. I like to clear my mind and really prepare myself mentally. Here are a few YouTube channels that I like to watch:

http://www.youtube.com/user/ZuzkaLight

http://www.youtube.com/user/charliejames1975

http://www.youtube.com/user/Tatiannamania 

http://www.youtube.com/user/Kitty8Tim

Do you have any channels you’d like to suggest? Please do, I am always looking for more fitness inspiration.

8. My Wardrobe

It’s great to have a rockin’ wardrobe filled with clothes you love. What sucks is when you don’t feel awesome in those clothes. You can shop as much as you want to find that perfect fitting pair of skinny jeans, but if you don’t feel proud of your body, if you don’t feel comfortable, chances are that no piece of cloth will change that.

9. My Energy Level & Mental Clarity

The more active you are; the more energy you have. Working out on a regular basis gets your heart rate up, send a rush of endorphin in your cells and makes you feel like a million bucks, even if your bank account is in the minus. An active lifestyle really changes your world for the best! Give it a try, and transform yourself inside out!

10. Sense of Accomplishment

Each time we accomplish something, we feel proud and confident, our sense of self-worth grows and we feel like we can make it, like we are strong enough… This feeling is incredible, you become unstoppable!

Extra tip of the day

My Workout Mantra!

Before each workout, even in between sets, I tell myself “I am strong”. I know, I might look silly, but this works for me especially when I start feeling burnt, it gives me that extra push I need to give it my all!

Try it “I Am Strong”!

What motives you to keep going strong?

click on each image for direct img. source link

, ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “5 Things Tuesday… My Motivational Tips!”

  1. Steph...In Motion Says:

    Rewards and clothes keep me going! I definitely need to try PINterest, I keep a vision board in my room, but it’s so 20th century 🙂 . Great post!

    Reply

    • myfitstation Says:

      Thanks Steph… I love Vision Boards, yet I still haven’t done mine!!!
      I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun pinning! I have to warn you, it gets kind of addictive… 😉

      Reply

  2. m3lly78 Says:

    LOVE! especially 4 & 8. where did you get your notepad from or did you create it yourself???

    Reply

    • myfitstation Says:

      Thanks 🙂 That’s not actually my notepad… I share my Workout Log with you guys…but my journal is more private so I didn’t put it up…
      Have a good one!
      Isabella xoxo

      Reply

Leave a Comment

